Are You Sensing a Pattern Yet…?

To me, fall = all things pumpkin (except pumpkin pie, which for some weird reason I have never liked!).
Last Monday I knew I wouldn’t be getting out of class until 6 p.m., which meant I wouldn’t be home until around 6:30 p.m. which is my dinner time. I knew that I would be tired and hungry when I got home, so I spent some time Sunday night preparing a delicious dinner that I would be able to just come home, heat up and enjoy.

“Pumpkin Tortellini Soup”
2 c. chicken stock
Onion
Carrots
1/2 c. canned pumpkin
1/2 c. tomato paste
1/2 c. kidney beans
Salt and pepper to taste
3/4 dry tortellini

I started by spraying my pot with cooking spray, adding my chopped vegetables (I didn’t measure the amount) and heating them until tender. Next, I added the chicken stock and let the mixture simmer for about 20 minutes. I then added the rest of the ingredients, except the tortellini, mixed well, cover with a lid, and let it simmer on the stove for an hour. Finally, I boiled the tortellini and tossed it into the soup mixture.

This soup tasted great the next day because it had a chance to really thicken up, and had a stew-like consistency rather than a liquid-y soup one. I have made this recipe since, and it has proved to be very versatile. The second time I made it I threw in some broccoli and spinach that needed to be used up, and it worked out great. The soup could be modified with whatever you have on hand!

Tell Me What You Think!

