Will Run for Pumpkin

Happy Sunday! Today started with a quick trip to the gym to complete some speed-work intervals on the treadmill. I wasen’t in the mood for a long, intense workout today, so I gave myself a minimum workout that I had to get through, and once I finished that, if I wanted to continue and make my workout longer, I could. Of course, that didn’t happen, but I am more than okay with that. My express workout got my heart and legs going, which is the most important thing. My 40 minute session went something like this:

5 minute warm-up at 6.7 mph
1 minute sprint at 8.7 mph
1 minute cool-down at 4.5 mph
(Repeat for 10 minutes)
1 minute sprint at 8.3 mph with a 3% incline
1 minute cool-down at 4.5 mph with a 0.5% incline
(Repeat for 10 minutes)
5 minute cool-down at 7.0 mph
10 minute cool-down walk at 4.5 mph
Done!

After the gym I walked over to Trader Joe’s to buy some more coffee, and was super excited when I saw what they had in stock….Pumpkin Spice Coffee! I can’t wait to try it tomorrow morning. When I got home, it was time for lunch. My coffee purchase must have sparked a craving for pumpkin because I knew I wanted to incorporate it into my lunch somehow. Luckily, I had the last serving of a can I open earlier this week still in the fridge. From this, my “Pumpkin Pie in a Bowl” smoothie was born, and let me just tell you, it was awesome!

“Pumpkin Pie in a Bowl” Smoothie
1/3 c. oats (I used instant)
1/2 c. milk (I would lessen or even omit this next time because I prefer my smoothies to have a thicker consistency)
1/2 c. canned pumpkin
1 very ripe banana
Pumpkin pie spice
1 Tbsp. sugar-free Maple Syrup

Cook oats with water, and once they have completely cooled, combine them in your blender with all the other ingredients. I ended up topping mine with a few handfuls of Barbara’s Cinnamon Puffins cereal. Mmmm…it tasted like fall in smoothie form.

Tell Me What You Think!

