Chinese Made Healhy

Happy Friday! It’s hard to believe that the second full week has come and gone already…this week went by fast! Luckily I have the weekend to relax and recover because I felt like I was dragging my butt around ALL day. Hmmm….maybe yesterday’s long run caught up to me. Other than that, the day was pretty uneventful, full of classes and getting a head start on some of next week’s homework. Today’s eats were pretty uneventful as well, with the exception of a yummy dinner. Ethnic food usually gets a bad rap for being unhealthy, and the fact that Chinese is full of sodium and fat, makes it no different. However, there are exceptions to every rule, even this one! For tonight’s dinner, I took a classic dish and put a healthy spin on it.

Presenting my healthy chicken Chow Mein…

The typical 9.4 oz serving of Chow Mein from Panda Express contains 500 kcals, almost half of which are from fat! And that is without chicken in it. I think I will sticking with my version whenever a Chinese food craving strikes.

In my bowl went:
1 package Tofu Shirataki Noodles (If you haven’t seen these, I highly suggest checking them out! They can be found at almost any grocery store by the other refrigerated Asian food-think Tofu products)
1 cooked chicken breast
2 c. frozen veggies
2 Tbsp. Lawry’s Pineapple Teriyaki Sauce

A yummy, filling, veggie loaded dish that won’t leave you feeling gross 20 minutes after eating it (like Panda Express!)

Tell Me What You Think!

