Chili Cheese Fries for Grown Ups

It was another uneventful day in the life of this girl. My morning bowl of oats and cup of coffee was followed by a trip to the gym. My legs were screaming at me not to do my normal 50 minutes of cardio today, and I gladly listened. I really wasn’t up to chugging away on a machine for almost an hour. So, needing a little inspiration, I searched around on a few other blogs and came up with this circuit that I repeated 3x after completing an easy 20 minute warm-up on the elliptical.
  • 60 jumping jacks
  • 10 real pushups (always a challenge for me!)
  • 20 walking lunges
  • 40 sidekicks (20 with each leg)
  • 20 jumping squats (whoa, this got my heart goin’!)
  • 1 minute plank
  • 5 burpees
  • 50 knee highs

This little routine was a nice change from my normal cardio. I always tell myself that I need to start incorporating more strength/toning exercises, but it never happens.

Fast forward through a few hours of reading, working on assignments and completing a presentation I have to give on emotional eating habits in children to when I took a trip to the grocery store, mostly out of boredom. A few items that I didn’t necessarily need somehow found their way into my basket, one of which was Alexia Spicy Sweet Potato Fries. I had never had these before, so I was a little hesitant about the ‘spicy’ part, but they were the only kind they had annnd they were on sale. I was instantly excited about this purchase and started to thinking of ways to incorporate them into this evening’s dinner. When I was younger, I was a big fan of chili-cheese fries…I mean whats not to love about fries and melted cheese? Being a bit older, wiser and healthier, I decided to put a “grown-up” spin on one of my childhood favorites.

In my bowl:
Alexia Spicy Sweet Potato Fries
Black Beans
Cheddar Cheese

Never tried the sweet potato/black bean combo? Its a must, the two flavors complement each other so well. And cheese, because cheese makes just about everything better in my opinion.

Tell Me What You Think!

