Beating Workout Boredom

Over the summer, I really feel back in love with spinning classes and a new-to-me class at my gym called Body Pump. I enjoy taking classes because an instructor can really motivate me to push myself more than I can on my own, plugging away on a piece of gym equipment. However, now that I am back at school and my schedule doesn’t allow me to take any of the fitness classes offered at the school gym, I have been finding it hard to really push and motivate myself lately. I have always had a love/hate relationship with running, but in the past month, I have been increasing my weekly mileage, and as a result, I have actually started to like it more because it has added some much needed variety into my routine. Another way to add variety? Intervals!
Today’s workout
Treadmill-30 minutes
10 minute warm-up @ 6.7 mph
1 minute @ 8.7 mph
1 minute @ 4.5
(2 minute sets repeated 6x)
8 minutes @ 7 mph
Elliptical
20 minutes

Mixing high intensity intervals with short periods of recovery is a great way to exercise because not only does it really get your heart pumping, it helps increase your speed and aerobic threshold and has been proven to increase calorie burn. Plus, it makes your routine fly by!

After the gym, I didn’t have time to eat lunch before my Exercise Biology class, so by the time I got home at 2 o’clock, I wanted something fast. Luckily I knew exactly what I wanted becuase I was thinking about this during the entire hour I was in class.
Mmmm…meatball sandwich.With marinara and a slice of Provolone chesse, because, like I’ve said before, everything is better with cheese. Served with extra marinara on the side for dipping.

Happy Friday, everyone!

One thought on “Beating Workout Boredom

Tell Me What You Think!

