Ju-Ju-Ju-Jump Around

I have used the past few Sundays as “long run” days, but today I felt like doing something different. I headed to the gym for a fun, new cardio workout, and oh baby, it was a good one!
“Jump Around” Cardio Circuit

20 minute elliptical warmup
50 Jumping Jacks
20 walking lunges
10 tuck jumps (<- Ahhhhh!)
20 squats
60 knee-highs
10 squat jumps
10 burpees (<- killer!!)
60 sec. jump rope
20 sec. mountain climbers
25 pushups (I did 10 “real” ones and 15 “girlie” ones)
1 minute plank

1 round of this routine took me a little less than 10 minutes, so I repeated it 3x.

Luckily I was able to find an empty, unlocked group exercise room that I was able to do this circuit in so I didn’t look like a total nut-job jumping around.

After getting my sweat on, I stopped at TJ’s. Since I don’t live as close to a grocery store this year as I did last year, I have to pick up a few items everyday instead of doing a big shop every 2-3 weeks. Today I picked up two news things that I had never tried before.

Organic Broccoli Slaw and Tomato-Basil Hummus.

I was super excited for both, and went home to incorporate them both into my lunch.

I topped a whole-wheat tortilla with provolone cheese, hummus and broccoli slaw

And had some cottage cheese with a little Blackberry jam on the side

All wrapped up and ready to go.

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Cottage cheese is a great source of protein and Calcium. Stay away from the nonfat kind! The calorie difference between nonfat and higher fat options is extremely minimal, and the added fat not only gives it a creamier taste, but it will also increase the staying power of the cottage cheese, keeping you fuller for longer.

And yes, House of Pain’s “Jump Around” was played during the creation of this blog.



Tell Me What You Think!

