Pizza Night

I have never really been a huge fan of the elliptical at the gym because I felt like it was too easy to slack off by not pedaling very hard or holding on to the hand grips. But, recently I found the secret to really working up a sweat on the elliptical….stop holding on! It might seem like an obvious suggestion, but it really gets your heart pumping. Today’s mid-morning workout looked something like this…

20 mins. StairMaster
10 min. spin bike (I really tried to focus on climbing heavy hills in the saddle)
20 mins. elliptical (2 mins. heavy resistance-pumping my arms and not holding on, 2 mins. light resistance-holding on, only because I am not that coordinated and didn’t want to fall off! But keep your grip light when doing this!)

You better believe I was a sweaty mess after this. It was awesome.

Lunch consisted of an old favorite with a new twistTuna Salad!
Mayonnaise are high on my list of foods I dislike. There is something about the texture that just really grosses me out. So the “twist” in this wrap was 2 Tbsp. of Garlic Hummus in place of that gross white stuff. Plus a little sauteed spinach because I have a GIANT Costco bag of it sitting in the fridge staring at me.

Rolled up and grilled in the George Foreman. Enjoyed along side the other half of the Brussel Sprouts that I roasted the other day.
Why Would Jessica Eat This?: The newest Dietary Guidelines for American’s, released in 2010, suggest eating seafood 3x times a week for optimum health, and incorporating canned tuna into your diet is an easy way to do it. Choosing “chunk light” packed in water is a smart choice, becuase it is less likely to contain Mercury. Tuna supplies a variety of nutrients, including the minerals Selenium, Magnesium and Potassium in addition to B vitamins and those oh-so-important Omega 3s!

The remainder of my day was filled with homework, a long walk with Barrett and pizza! When I get a craving for pizza, I always get Trader Joe’s Roasted Portabella Mushroom and Garlic Pizza
Pizza has a reputation for being a greasy calorie bomb, but the stats for this one are very reasonable, with the whole pizza clocking in at only 460 calories.
Fresh, tasty and topped with veggies, this is definitely a smart choice when that weekend pizza craving hits.Good Night!

Tell Me What You Think!

