Calling All Carb Lovers (A Giveaway!)

I am a self-proclaimed carboholic, and proud of it.Cute, right??

Why? You probably know that carbohydrates supply energy, right? Right! We need an average of 45-65% of our total daily calorie intake to come from carbs to provide energy and to fuel our brains with glucose. Oh, and forget anything you have hear from that silly Dr. Atkins, carbs do NOT make you fat, so put all your fears aside, and embrace the carb lover in you just as I have.

The awesome people over at Rudi’s Organic Bakery (http://www.rudisbakery.com/) in Boulder, CO have generously given me two of their award-winning loaves of bread and well as 2 sandwich containers to share with you guys!

To enter, leave a comment (using the link at the bottom of this post) telling me about either the best sandwich you have ever eaten OR the most creative sandwich you have ever made. I will be picking two winners, the one that makes my mouth water the most, and the one who came up with the most unique sandwich. Post away and be sure to leave your name! I will be picking a winner on Friday afternoon!

17 thoughts on “Calling All Carb Lovers (A Giveaway!)

  1. Ok this one may sound strange but Ive been loving it since a kid. Its a grape jam, bologna, butter & potato chip sandwich – yes it sounds highly disgusting, but it has won a sandwich contest…2 slices of bread, butter 1 slice, add some grape jam onto the buttered slice, add a slice of bologna and then a handful of Ruffles potato chips. Top with the other slice and lightly press down. Enjoy! Its really good!

  2. My favorite creation is turkey, cheese and peanut butter.Spread peanut butter on two slices of white bread. Add a couple slices of turkey and American cheese. So tasty! And even better if you've had it sitting in the fridge for a couple hours before eating it!

  3. I love Rudi's bread – the Colorado Cracked Wheat and the Sourdough are my faves. One of my favorite sandwiches is the wheat with regular old yellow mustard, some slices of (Yves vegan, for me) bologna, and classic ripple chips. The crunch is awesome, and the flavour combination just works! Why have your chips on the side, when you can have 'em contained in one convenient sandwich? 🙂

  4. I love Rudi's, but cannot buy there breads where I live…It is hard to choose the best sandwich I have ever had, but one that my son used to make for me stands out in my mind. It was marinated and grilled chicken breast with bacon and provolone on a croissant, lightly grilled just until the cheese is all nicely melted.A few slices of avocado and/or tomato are nice with that too!One of my favorites to make is peanut butter, bacon and sometimes american or cheddar cheese on buttered toast. Yummy!

  5. We have used Rudi's Ancient Grain bread for a while now! (best bread (ridiculously fabulous) I've ever tasted!) We use the bread for a lot of foods but our favorite is BLT's. Toast the bread till it just begins to brown – use Vegenaise sandwich spread (another ridiculously fabulous product!) on both pieces of bread, top with mixed bacon slices (harder and more cooked along with less cooked, more flexible pieces), lettuce leaf and a tomato slice. Hold sandwich in both hands, take a bite out of one corner and taste the crunch!! and delicious flavor! Enjoy the rest of sandwich. Remember to wipe your mouth when finished (and lick your fingers!)

  6. my fave sandwich with rudis bread with a tasty roasted turkey meat and cranberry sauce spreaded on top of slice of rudis original gluten free bread thats slightly toasted to hold the fillings. then with stuffings top it with then the other slice of bread

  7. Joy Masana The best Sandwich I've created was simple. It's just Nature Pride's bread with organic peanut butter and fresh cut pineapples and strawberries. Not only is it good for you,but it taste great

  8. The best sandwich that I ever made was on focaccia bread cut lengthwise. I put tomato, onion and provolone on it, toasted it open-faced in the oven. When the cheese bubbled and the exposed bread toasted to a nice golden color, I took it out and topped it off with thinly sliced avocado. No condiments necessary! It was light, delicious and nutritious an instant staple meal at our house when Im too busy to cook a big meal! 🙂 Thanks for all the stories everyone. I LOVE to read your ideas!

  9. My favorite sandwich that I've ever had is also one I've recreated at home (using Rudi's bread- which I was extremely delighted to find my commissary is now carrying!) is a deluxe grilled cheese. Brush two slices of your favorite Rudi's bread with olive oil. Use your favorite cheese (I love it with a sharp white cheddar cheese), several slices of oven-baked bacon, and slices of tomato (best with a farm-fresh, vine-ripened one!). Grill until cheese is melty and bread is nicely golden and crispy. Oh man….I think I know what I'll be making for lunch again tomorrow!

  10. I made a PB&J grilled cheese rendition. Rye bread slathered with cashew butter and fig jam with Morbier cheese, Provolone and cheese curds. I pressed the sandwich on my George Foreman grill for a nice crisp panini oozing cheesy, buttery, fruity goodness!

  11. My all time favorite sandwich in the whole world is the Cajun Seitan Sandwich from Candle Cafe in NYC. I have tried to create it at home, but it is just not the same…larkspurpurple (at) gmail.com

  12. The best sandwich I have ever had is a vegetarian Rueben at Watercourse Foods in Denver. It featured a grilled portobello mushroom instead of the meat and some lovely homemade sauerkraut!

Tell Me What You Think!

