The Most Important Meal of the Day

Happy Monday! Hope your week is starting off well…I know mine is! Before I get into telling you about the wild world of nutrition, I wanted to let you all know that you can now follow me on Twitter!

Everything your mother told you about breakfast being the most important meal of the day was right. Granted some choices are better than others (I’m speaking to all you donut and pastry eaters out there), giving your body SOMETHING in the morning is extremely important! Breakfast, no matter how small, should ideally be eaten within an hour of waking up because your body has been devoid of fuel for many hours. This also helps ensure that your metabolism starts firing right away, which is crucial for long-term weight maintenance. If you think you are saving calories by skipping this meal, you are wrong. While you might eat less calories in the morning if you forgo breakfast, you will certainly make up for it later in the day by eating more.

You have all heard about my devotion to oatmeal and how I eat it nearly everyday, but today I did things a little differently. Since this is a somewhat rare occurrence, I wanted to give you guys an idea of one of my alternative breakfast choices.Yogurt Bowl!
In the Mix:
1 container Oikos 0% Plain Greek Yogurt
1 Banana
1 c. Barbara’s Cinnamon Puffins
Pumpkin Spice (to taste)
A drizzle of SF Maple Syrup

The protein from the yogurt along with the fiber from the pumpkin is a delicious combo that has the power to keep you full and satisfied throughout the morning.

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Barbara’s Puffins Cereal is one of my favorite cereals on the market, and always finds it’s way into my shopping cart when I’m at the grocery store. At only 90 calories per 2/3 c. serving, this cereal also delivers 24% of your daily fiber needs and has only 6 grams of sugar. I also like that the cereal has a short ingredient list and contains no weird mystery ingredients that are difficult to pronounce. If I still haven’t convinced you, its an excellent source of Vitamin C, is vegetarian, Certified Kosher and has no artificial flavors, additives or preservatives. Score!

Tell Me What You Think!

