Building a Better Salad

I have been on a big salad kick lately, which is probably evident by the number of times I have posted my green lunches on here. Now, I will admit that I have not always been the biggest fan of salads, and I am not the kind of girl who will go out to dinner and order a salad as my entree. Sometimes they are nice to start a meal with, but as my entire dinner? No thanks. For most people, the word “salad” conquers up thoughts of limp, tasteless vegetables that leave you feeling hungry an hour later. So, you want to know the secrets to building a salad that tastes good, keeps you fulls, is packed with nutrients and won’t break the calorie bank?
It starts with the baseToday, mine included greens, broccoli, cherry tomatoes, shredded carrots and cucumbers. When ever I get prepackaged salads, I add extra greens for more volume. As a rule of thumb, the darker the leaf, the more nutrients it contains. I added extra spinach and broccoli slaw to this oneNext is the protein. Adding protein will give your salad more bulk and help satisfy your hunger. Today, I added a 1/2 c. kidney beans. Some other great sources of protein to include when building your salad include:
3 oz. diced up chicken breast
3 oz. lean deli meat (about 3 slices)
Canned tuna/salmon
Shrimp
Beans of any kind
Hard boiled eggs
Tofu

And, of course, fat! Today, I added 1/4 c. hummus and 1/4th of an avocado to my salad, but other good choices include:
Cheese
Olive Oil
Walnuts or slivered almonds
Dressing
and
Pumpkin or Sunflower seeds

I am not a salad dressing person, so I usually just top my salads with salsa. If you like your salads with dressing, try to avoid cream based dressings, or use them sparingly. I recommend “low-fat” dressings over “non-fat”, but you still need to use portion control.

I got a 5 miler in this morning, so I will be studying and relaxing for the rest of the afternoon. Enjoy the rest of your Saturday!

Tell Me What You Think!

