Easy Stuffed Peppers

Ah, Sunday night…we meet again. That can only mean one thing, the start of a new week. November is right around the corner!

Today was a beautiful, so I took my lunch outdoors

A whole wheat tortilla filled with hummus, cheese, and the other half of last night’s eggplant which I roasted in the over for 25 minutes at 375 degreesAlong with a pathetic amount of sweet potato fries on the side.There were only a few left at the bottom of the bag, and I hate wasting food. They were a nice addition to my wrap.

The rest of my day was filled with school work, doggie walks, baking cookies with my friend Phoebe for the Student Nutrition Association bake sale, and this workout:
Jump rope Circuit Cardio Workout
2o minute elliptical warmup
50 jumping jacks
30 sec jump rope
20 alternating lunges
30 sec jump rope
10 squat jumps
30 sec jump rope
60 sec knee highs
30 sec jump rope
10 burpees
3o sec jump rope
60 jumping jacks
30 sec jump rope
20 sec mountain climbers
30 sec jump rope
25 pushups (I did 10 “real” and 15 “girlie”)
3o sec jump rope
1 min plank

Phew, that was a lot to type! 1 round took me about 15 minutes to complete, so I did it twice.

Dinner was a take on an old favorite. I always request my mom’s stuffed peppers when I am home, and while my version is not nearly as delicious, it was still pretty good! And the best part? You can do it almost entirely in the microwave in under 15 minutes. Gotta love convenience!
Easy Microwave Stuffed Peppers

  • Cut the top off of a green bell pepper, wrap in a moist paper towel and microwave for 3 minutes
  • Saute 1/4th of an onion and 1/2 of a yellow zucchini in a pan coated with non-stick cooking spray
  • In a separate bowl, combine sauteed vegetables, 1/2 c. cooked brown rice, 2/3 c. cooked ground beef, 1/2 c. canned, diced tomatoes, salt and pepper. Microwave until mixture is hot
  • Stuff pepper!

Oh, and you can’t forget to top it off with Marinara sauce!
Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Brown rice is a great carbohydrate choice because, unlike processed white rice, it retains the bran and germ layer of the grain. Keeping these layers ensures that most of rice’s benefits are retained, including fiber and B vitamins.

Tell Me What You Think!

