I Don’t Sweat, I Sparkle.

I once had a spin teacher that said, “girls don’t sweat at the gym, they sparkle”.

After I repeat of yesterday’s yummy breakfast, I went to the gym to get my sparkle on.

Time (mins.) Speed (mph)
0 – 2 6.5
2 – 7 6.6
7 – 11 6.7
11 – 21 6.8
21 – 22 7
22 – 23 6.6
Repeat minutes 21 – 23 4x
31 – 35 6.7
35 – 40 6.8
40 – 45 6.9

You know what else was sparkling? My new Sparkly Soul headband! Guys have no idea how lucky they are that they don’t have to deal with long hair when working out! I have pretty long, wavy hair, so I have always had trouble figuring out what to do with my hair when I exercise. I usually try to pin my bangs back with bobby pins, but that doesn’t always cut it. My new headband has been the answer to my prayers. They are specially made for wearing while your working out…the inside has a velvety texture to prevent that annoying slipping feeling. It worked great, I didn’t have to adjust it once during my run! Hallelujah.

After pounding out somewhere between 5.5-6 miles with this workout, I headed home for lunch. The walk back to my house was a cold one, and it left me wanting something warm for lunch.
When I opened the fridge and saw my new package of Veggie Slices, I was instantly inspired.
Grilled Cheese and Split Pea Soup!

I am not vegetarian, vegan, lactose intolerant or allergic to gluten, but you have probably noticed that I eat alot of products made for people with those dietary restrictions. I do this for two reasons, one being that I love trying new foods, and the second is that I like to make myself familiar with as many new food products on the market that I can. As a future dietitian, I will be working with people who have these, and other dietary restrictions, and I like to keep myself informed so that I will be able to better inform my clients of the options out there.That being said….this cheese was the star of my lunch! I had never tried soy-based cheese before, but this stuff was great! It melted just like normal cheese, and had a delicious pepper jack flavor. This is a great cheese alternative for those of you out there that need one (or just like trying new products like I do!) because it is free of lactose, cholesterol and trans and saturated fat. Plus, it is a great source of calcium!

Have a safe and fun Saturday night!

Align Center

8 thoughts on “I Don’t Sweat, I Sparkle.

  1. I never really thought about how important it is as a future RD to try out different products for different dietary intolerances… that's a really great idea! I would hate to recommend to my future clients a brand of GF bread that tastes terrible! 😛

  2. Mmm…The Pepper-Jack flavored veggie slices are my favorite! Looks like the perfect warm, comforting meal. :)I love that headband! So cute. Having hair in my face when I'm working out is one of my biggest pet peeves. Love your blog!

  3. Just catching up on your blog, Jessica. Love your chatty style and all the fabulous ideas. I'm going to try buckwheat as an alternative to oatmeal. Another good GF whole grain for breakfast is millet – with maple syrup. Yum.

Tell Me What You Think!

