Buckwheat, the Mighty Little Grain

Happy Monday! I am happy to start a new week because that means we are one day closer to….Thanksgiving! Ok, I can’t get too excited yet, I still have to get through the next few days, my final food service management lab (YES!) and a presentation. Hopefully the short week will fly by and I will be eating turkey and all the fixings before I know it 🙂
Today, I made something a little different for breakfast.Buckwheat!If you are an oatmeal fan, Buckwheat is a great hot cereal to add into your diet for a little variety in the morning. Contrary to what you might think, Buckwheat isn’t actually a type of wheat, it is a fruit seed (meaning it is a good gluten free alternative). Like other grains, Buckwheat holds a whole host of great health benefits. It has been show to provide cardiovascular system protection, helps you better manage blood sugar levels, and can help prevent gallstones. Research reported by the American Institute for Cancer Research has even stated that the health-promoting potentials of Buckwheat are equal to, or higher, that than of fruits and vegetables!My bowl today included Buckwheat, pumpkin, cinnamon and PB. Yum 🙂
Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Buckwheat is an excelled source of Manganese, Magnesium, fiber and cancer preventing antioxidants. Additionally, it is a high-quality protein that contains all 8 essential amino acids. For just 140 calories per serving, Buckwheat is a mighty little grain!
7 thoughts on “Buckwheat, the Mighty Little Grain

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Your blog is fantastic, and I love the theme, "What would Jessica Eat"? Perfect for a soon-to-be dietitian! I have actually never tried buckwheat, but I do love adding PB to my hot oats, so I can imagine the taste is pretty similar (and both very nutritious!).

  2. Always strikes me as funny that oats are the only grain traditionally thought of for breakfast. I love quinoa/rices and now maybe buckwheat. Good luck on your exam and Happy Thanksgiving.

Tell Me What You Think!

