Every Little Bit Counts

Link

My alarm went off at 5:30 this morning. It was still pitch black outside, but I bounded out of bed, excited for one reason and one reason only….today was my last food service management lab! This lab required that we work in different food service sites every week (read: free slave labor), the earliest of which required we be there at 6:20 in the morning. I slugged back 2 large cups of coffee, ate an un-pictured Raisin Bran flavored Vitatop and headed to the hospital site that my group was working at this morning.

Mid-morning we got a break, which I used to sit down in the employee lounge and eat a proper breakfast. I brought a packet of Bakery on Main’s new Maple Multipgrain Muffin instant oatmeal with me for my morning meal. I usually eat plain instant oats and flavor them myself, but this handy little packet was just too convenient to pass up this morning. Preflavored oat tend to get a bad rap because they are so sugary, but this stuff was great! It had a great, subtle maple syrup flavor, and wasn’t overly sweet like most other brands tend to be. Plus, I loved the fact that it wasn’t only oatmeal, but a blend of certified gluten-free oats, amaranth and quinoa. I made my meal complete by adding in a very ripe banana and topping it with peanut butter from this cute (and also convenient) little packet. (Sorry, the actual product went unpictured because I was eating with the two other girls in my group and I didn’t want them to think I was a total nut-bag for taking pictures of my food!)Healthy eating on the go isn’t hard…it is all about planning ahead!

You know what also requires planning ahead? Gym time. After five hours of working in the hospital kitchen and a half-hour drive back to town, the last thing I wanted to do was sweat. I had planned ahead and packed my gym clothes in my backpack, so that I could have my ride drop me off on campus so I could go to the gym, but I was having a battle in my head the whole car ride back about whether or not I actually wanted to go. My group member dropped me off at the gym, and I went in. Still weighting my options, I knew that since I was already there with all my gym stuff, I should do something. Since I am leaving town tomorrow for Thanksgiving, I knew I would have the next few days off from the gym, and I used all the yummy food (and desserts!) I will be consuming for the next few days as my motivation. I made a deal with myself that all I had to do was 30 minutes on the spin bike. I snacked on a White Chocolate thinkThin bar because my stomach was starting to grumble a little bit, then sucked it up and changed into my exercise clothes. I went fast and hard for half and hour and then called it quits. Afterward I was so glad that I decided to do it! Every little bit counts, right?! You will never regret a workout!

My snack did wonders for my hungry tummy (yeah 20 grams of protein!) but by the time I got home I was more than ready for lunch! The only thing I was craving was granola, so granola it was.I topped some plain Greek yogurt with Jessica’s Granola and almost a whole pint of raspberries that needed to be eaten before I leave for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Delicious!Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Raspberries are by far one of my favorite fruits. They are a great source of antioxidants and also provide antimicrobial and anti-carcinogenic protection. Additionally, raspberries are a great source of Vitamin C and fiber. Eat your raspberries!

9 thoughts on “Every Little Bit Counts

  1. They are super tasty and filling! Plus they don't have the gross texture that some protein bars. I have the Chunky PB flavor sitting in my kitchen, but haven't tried it yet! It is definitely getting consumed next!

  2. OMG I love raspberries so much! They are my FAVOURITE fruit, especially when in season in summer. In winter my favourite in season fruit is satsumas or mandarins…so sweet, so wonderful!Thanks for stopping by my blog today girl, I'm glad to have found yours!

  3. I love the little individual peanut butters from Smuckers. Every time a friend takes me to the dining hall on their meal plan I eat one bowl of cereal and then take approximately 10 peanut butters to go, so convienent!Those raspberries look amazing.

Tell Me What You Think!

