WIAW: The Post-Thanksgiving Edition


Still trying to undo some of the damage inflicted by heaping mounds of mashed potatoes and pumpkin pie over the holiday weekend? Make sure you check out my last post for tips about getting back on track! In an effort to practice what I preach, I have really been aiming to include a lot of whole, nutrient-dense foods in my diet this week. My eats today were a good example!

Breakfast started with an old favoriteOats with 1/2 a banana, pumpkin, cinnamon and topped with a scoop of Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut butter. I guess I didn’t get enough pumpkin this weekend!

Lunch was another salad from campusSpinach topped with cucumbers, red and green bell peppers, carrots, golden raisins and tuna.I added an extra head of lettuce, kidney beans, salsa and another one of these cute little hummus packets.

Mmmmmmm…..vitamins galore!

This week marks the last week of instruction for the quarter, meaning I a ton of studying to do for the next few days! I have a midterm on Friday, and then I start finals on Monday. Yikes!
I drank a beer while studying.
A few more hours of studying and my tummy started talking to me. Dinner was a creation I have been thinking about since my future mother-in-law sent me home with a giant, uncooked sweet potato that was leftover from Thanksgiving dinner.
Scrambled eggs, sweet potato and a Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese triangle rolled up in a whole wheat tortilla lightly browned in the George Foreman. I wish I could say this creation was as amazing as I thought it was going to be, but it wasn’t. It was still good, but it was just missing….something. But, I can’t figure out what!

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Love pumpkin? You should try sweet potatoes! Just like pumpkin, these guys are a great source of beta-carotene and fiber, with very minimal fat. They are also packed with antioxidants, anti-inflammatory agents and have positive effects on blood glucose levels. They have a deliciously sweet flavor and can be made in the oven or microwave. Easy peasy!

Back to studying….I could use another beer.

33 thoughts on “WIAW: The Post-Thanksgiving Edition

  1. Oh my gosh- those hummus packets are adorable! I've never seen anything like that. I need to find some asap. And your oats look delicious- you can never have too much pumpkin. 🙂

  2. Diet Barq's just might be the best diet "beer" around. [And my preferred beer. ;)]I love the hummus packets! Considering if I'm given the whole tub I can plow through it all, I might need to start thinking about looking for those…of course I could always make my own, right?

  3. OMG another diet barq's fan. Seriously I have never met someone else that drinks that root beer over A&W. My mom hoards it at our house, so its what we were raised on. Haha. Awesome eats. Glad I found your blog!

  4. I love the idea of grilling a wrap… definitely gonna have to try that soon.I had a similar fail mixing broccoli and cream cheese into a "sandwich" type deal. I thought it would be delicious but it so wasn't.

  5. oatmeal is my favorite breakfast ever and it has to have peanut butter in it!! Bummer the dinner didnt turn out as well as you would have liked, it sounded yummy!

  6. First off, I love diet root beer and I haven't had it in WAY too long! Thanks for the reminder.Second, I agree, sweet potatoes are very similar to pumpkin (but in my opinion they are better). I have found that most stores are selling "Sweet potatoes" this time of year, and they are really yams! It makes me mad because they taste completely different. I love your SP, egg, and laughing cow cheese creation! Very clever.

  7. Cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter? That sounds delicious!!! That's so weird that you have a midterm and then finals right away after (of course, unless it's for a full year course?)Anyways, I'm glad you stopped by my blog because now I've found yours 🙂

  8. ok seriously that last photo is going to haunt me. It looks so so good!! I will probably dream about it now I kid you not. I love stuffing burritos like that 🙂

Tell Me What You Think!

