Greetings From The Mile High City

Greeting from the Mile High City of Denver! I landed safely about an hour and a half ago and am now sitting in my uncle’s “man cave” basement blogging, watching Friends on his big screen projector TV and sipping on a Diet Coke. No complaints here!
Rewinding to this morning, I had a Hungry Bar before I left my house for the airport.I still can’t get over how seriously delicious these things are. I kept my breakfast on the lighter side, because I knew I would be getting my tradition treat at the airport.A SF Vanilla Latte with Soy.
I also picked up something for lunch that I could eat on the plane.A turkey and cheddar sandwich on mulitgrain bread, with a big bottle of water on the side.

You know what the best part of the flight was?The warm, complimentary chocolate chip cookie I was served! The perfect lunch time dessert to satisfy my sweet tooth.

Eating healthy while traveling doesn’t have to be an impossible task. During the holiday season, it is especially important not to use traveling as an excuse to totally disregard healthy eating when your traveling, becuase there will be many other diet tempting treats around everywhere else. Good airport choices include lean sandwiches (like mine!), moderately sized veggie wraps, and salads that aren’t loaded with fatty toppings or drenched in creamy dressings. It’s all about planning ahead! If you are flying, check the terminal’s website before you get there so you can scope out the options prior to your arrival. If you know your only choices are from calorie-laden fast food items, bring snack bars, peanut butter packs, individual trail mix bags, fruit, or any of your other favorite healthy snacks.

Happy travels!

4 thoughts on “Greetings From The Mile High City

Tell Me What You Think!

