Jet Fuel

Hello, and happy Monday! I am back home now after my short trip to Colorado where I had a blast visiting family and attending an open house for one of the Dietetic Internships that I will be applying to. But, enough about that….let’s talk about the food! Rewind to Saturday night when I went out to dinner in Boulder with my aunt and two cousins. As soon as I looked at the menu, my mind was made up. The Polenta and Vegetable Gorgonzola it was!
Toasted Parmesan polenta topped with house tomato sauce, sauteed vegetables, and crumbled Gorgonzola cheese

I love Polenta, but it is pretty rare to see it on a menu. This dish was amazing, and I am determined to recreate it at home!

Sunday morning, my aunt and uncle took me out to one of their favorite breakfast joints before taking me to the airport. I usually go for sweet breakfasts, like waffles or pancakes, but I was feeling savory and went with the artichoke, pesto and Swiss omelet (to which I also added spinach). So good! Especially with ketchup on top 🙂

I also ordered fresh fruit and blueberry cornbread with my meal. Perfect flying fuel.

Insert a few hours of driving, waiting, flying and driving here. After a long day, I was excited to finally be back home! My dad made me a Martini (necessary after a day of travel) and my parents and I sat around chatting and snacking on some Food Should Taste Good White Cheddar chips before dinner. Link
I had been hearing only good things about chips, and finally decided to break open a bag. These chips (which could also double as a cracker!) are not only all natural with no preservative, gluten, cholesterol or lactose, they are low in fat and salt while providing a good dose of fiber. Made with quinoa, flax, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, soy and brown rice, these not only taste good, but they also good for you! We all loved the mild cheddar flavor that the chips had….and they definitely got more and more addicting as I kept munching!
The flavor of these chips would make them great when paired with black beans, salsa or apples.

For dinner, my mom made a household favorite.

Chicken fajitas! Perfect was to end the day and start my time at home 🙂

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Polenta, made from cornmeal, is a great grain option to introduce into your diet when you are looking for something different. It is low in both calories and fat, and it a breeze to make. It can be purchased dry or prepared and is a versatile option that can be used in a wide array of dishes. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Jet Fuel

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! And, oh, jealous that you were in Colorado–I love that state! Well, for vacations, I couldn't live with that much snow/cold, haha. That polenta looks delicious, and I love the idea of a post-travel martini 🙂

Tell Me What You Think!

