WIAW: Santa’s Little Helper


Happy WIAW! Being home and not having to worry about school 24/7 has been amazing! I have been helping my mom get ready for Christmas for the past two days by running errands, mailing packages and wrapping presents galore….just call me Santa’s Little Helper!

My breakfast this morning might look like my typical breakfast
Okay….so it basically is, but it has one super special edition that made it even better
Cookie Butter!

I immediately texted my mom the first time I saw this at Trader Joe’s, and she went out and bought some for us to try while I was home. Cookies and peanut butter are basically my two favorite foods, so I appreciate the creators at Trader Joe’s making it convenient for me and combining the two into one jar. The first time I tasted it I just wanted to lick it out of the jar…yes, it’s that good!

Another amazing addition to my morning meal? These two golden stars
Silk Mint Chocolate Soy milk (which I had to go to 3 stores to find, but it was totally worth it) and PureVia. I have mentioned before how I am a huge fan of artificial sugars, but PureVia is something different. It is an all natural, zero calorie sweetener derived from the Stevia plant. PureVia is a great choice for those of you who are into natural sweeteners, but are looking to avoid added calories, or the blood sugar spike delivered by other natural sweeteners such as Agave and honey (just because these last two things are natural, doesn’t mean they aren’t still sugar!). This was my first time trying PureVia, and it was a great addition to my coffee! It added just enough sweetness without that funky aftertaste that some artificial sweeteners deliver.

A few hours later, I was finally able to get a workout in and covered 5 miles during my run. It felt great to get moving again after taking so many days off!

While out running errands with my mom, she offered to buy me lunch at In N Out. That’s an offer I can never refuse.
Cheeseburger Protein Style with grilled onions and ketchup and mustard instead of spread, plus a diet coke on the side. Perfect fuel to power through the rest of our errands!

I offered to make dinner for the family tonight, and on the menu was a recipe that I saw on CookingLight.com and was anxious to try.


Chicken Tamale Casserole
Ingredients1 cup (4 ounces) preshredded 4-cheese Mexican blend cheese, divided
1/3 cup fat-free milk
1
egg
1 teaspoon
ground cumin
1/8 teaspoon
ground red pepper
1
(14 3/4-ounce) can cream-style corn
1
(8.5-ounce) box corn muffin mix
1
(4-ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
Cooking spray

1 (10-ounce) can red enchilada sauce

2 cups
shredded cooked chicken breast
1/2 cup
fat-free sour cream

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 400°.
2. Combine 1/4 cup cheese and next 7 ingredients (through chiles) in a large bowl, stirring just until moist. Pour mixture into a 13 x 9–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.
3. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until set. Pierce entire surface liberally with a fork; pour enchilada sauce over top. Top with chicken; sprinkle with remaining 3/4 cup cheese. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until cheese melts. Remove from oven; let stand 5 minutes. Cut into 8 pieces; top each serving with 1 tablespoon sour cream.

Good Night!

20 thoughts on “WIAW: Santa’s Little Helper

  1. I just discovered your blog and love it!! All of our meals look delicious- esp. IN N OUT Burger! My boyfriend lives in L.A. so I always go when I am out there (we don't have any here in Minnesota) :(I am loving Pure Via lately too and I just finished up a jar of Biscoff spread- I am going to try the TJ's kind next! 🙂

  2. That cookie butter is like crack in a jar. I can not keep my spoon out of it!! I need to try eating it in more fun ways. So far I've only had it on a banana and straight up. I think baking with it would be fun or a cookie butter and fluff sandwich!!

  3. So, without admitting how much time I spend at Trader Joe's (too much), I can't believe I have seen that cookie butter! It sounds absolutely spectacular. And will be a great excuse to go to Trader Joe's. Again.

Tell Me What You Think!

