What I Ate…Thursday

Happy Thursday! The week is almost over and we are one day closer to Christmas! I don’t normally post an entire day of eats (aside from ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ posts), but everything I ate yesterday was so good I just had to share!

I strayed from my usual oatmeal breakfast (I don’t know how I pulled myself away from the Cookie Butter jar) and started my day in a more chocolately way.Plain 0% Greek yogurt topped with raspberries and Enjoy Life’s Double Chocolate Crunch granola.LinkJust like the company’s vast array of other products, this cereal is nut and gluten free and contains nothing artificial. I was also surprised to see that it was relatively low in calories for granola. But, you know what I liked most about this stuff? The mini chocolate chips! The granola had a yummy cocoa flavor, and totally reminded me of Cocoa Pebbles. Chocolate + raspberries….what’s not to love?

I played the role of Santa’s Little Helper again, running errands with my mom and helping her prepare for Christmas. Before we left, I made sure to fuel up!
I made myself a ham sandwich with a Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese wedge and two slice of Rudi’s Organic Bakery’s 100% Whole Wheat Bread. If you are looking for a good, pure, wholesome bread, this is it. The bread has no synthetic ingredients, and USDA Certified Organic with 95% of the ingredients being organic. I loved the flavor, especially the slight hint of molasses that came through and complimented my other sandwich components perfectly.

I offered to make dinner for the family again, and this time I broke out the all to convenient crock pot. Crock pot meals are perfect on days, like today, when your out running errands. A little planning in the morning, and you don’t have to worry about preparing dinner later in the day when you would rather just relax. Plus, cooking anything in a crock pot makes your house smell amazing! When I saw The Skinny Crock Pot’s recipe for Skinny Turkey Stew, I knew it would make a perfect meal for a cold day.

Skinny Turkey Stew
Ingredients
1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 stalk celery, diced
1/2 cup diced onion
1 clove garlic, minced live oil (for sautรฉing)
2 -3 cups turkey meat
1 cup sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1โ€ cubes
2 carrots, peeled and sliced
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon allspice
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (more or less to taste)
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (more or less to taste)
1 cup frozen peas (no sugar or salt added)
2 cups chicken broth (fat free, low sodium)
1 (14.5 oz.) can fire roasted tomatoes
Salt to taste

Directions
Sautรฉ garlic, celery and onion in oil over medium-low heat until tender, about 5.
Add all the above ingredients to the slow cooker, stir to combine.
Cover and cook on low 8 hours or until carrots are tender.

With a side of Green Chile and Cheddar biscuitsThis meal was simple and nutritious!I love how many veggies this soup had, but next time I would decrease the amount of spice. Given, I am a total wimp when it comes to spicy foods, but my mouth was on fire! Good thing there was extra biscuits ๐Ÿ˜‰

16 thoughts on “What I Ate…Thursday

  1. I love the Enjoy Life Granola, but I've only ever tried it in the Cinnamon Rasin flavor. I must give the Chocolate one a try! Oh and that Cookie Butter you mentioned the other day, has me planning a trip to Trader Joe's real soon! ( :

  2. I'm glad you did WIAW posts again, your food looks great and it's something I would have eaten the whole day too. I've seen the cookie butter at TJ's too, but I still have biscoff that I need to finish so I will wait on that purchase.

  3. Oh my gosh, cheddar biscuits were one of my favorite things growing up. The ones my mom used to make were amazing! I need to create a vegan version asap. All of your meals look so yummy, as usual. Especially your breakfast! Enjoy Life Granola is the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. What a delicious day of eats! ๐Ÿ™‚ Your Mum must love having you aroud as Santa's little helper, and as the resident chef – that soup looks lovely – yay for veggies in abundance! I'm just the same – I find it hard to steer away from the oatmeal, lol! ๐Ÿ˜› It's just soooo good, I'm completely addicted to coconut butter on my oats. Lush! Cookie butter sounds wonderful! We NEED that in England! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ditto for granola! xyx

Tell Me What You Think!

