WIAW: The Post-Christmas Edition


Happy Wednesday!Welcome back to the real, post-holiday world and another edition of “What I Ate Wednesday”! I hope you all had a great weekend, I know I did. I really enjoyed all the time with family and not to mention lots of yummy foods and desserts! I don’t know about you, but while I do enjoy all the indulgent foods that come with the holidays, I can only handle so much before I just start craving healthy foods and exercise again. Let’s just say after Monday, I hit that point. Today was the official start of getting back to my normal routine, and I can already feel a difference.
Breakfast started with my typical bowl of oatmeal, but this one was a little different thanks to the addition of some leftover sweet potatoes from the weekend, and a blob of Dark Chocolate Almond Butter (a stocking stuffer!) on top.After breakfast I got my sweat on at a spin class. It was a great workout….definitely what I needed!

On the way home from doing a bunch of errands with my mom, I picked up a quick (and very late!) lunch from Trader Joe’s.Their Grilled Eggplant Wrap is one of my favorite prepared go to meals. Plus, it’s super delicious!For dinner, we put our Christmas Eve dinner leftovers to good use.
Pork roast, sweet potatoes, roasted carrots and a simple side of veggies.

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Eggplant might look scary, but there is nothing to fear! It has phytonutrients in it’s dark purple skin that act as antioxidants in the body. Studies have found that one antioxidant in particular known as Nasunin, protects lipids (fats) in the brain, which in turn keeps the cells safe from damaging free radicals. Still not convinced? Iron is an essential element needed in the diet, but excess in the body is associate with heart disease and cancer. Eating Eggplant can provide your body with other beneficial antioxidants that chelate (or bind to) extra iron to reduce it’s damaging effects.

Happy Wednesday!

20 thoughts on “WIAW: The Post-Christmas Edition

  1. I love spin class too. I went today and it was perfect for after the holidays. That eggplant sandwich looks great. I love grilled eggplants. I love grilled eggplant so much that I bought an indoor grill for the cold NY months where I cannot bbq hehe πŸ™‚

  2. I always look at the eggplant wrap at TJs but have never tried it. I'll have to pick one up next time I'm in there! Spin class is the perfect way to detox after all the holiday indulgences. πŸ™‚

  3. The food looks great! I wish I had a Traders Joe's closer to me 😦 I also love that you shared with us why the food is good! Thanks for that!

Tell Me What You Think!

