Good Luck For The New Year

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a fun and safe time welcoming the New Year last night! My family and I rung in the first day of 2012 with a dinner full of good luck!
My mom made one of my favorite dinners, stuffed cabbage. The dish included many traditional foods eaten on New Year’s that are believed to bring you good luck.

The ground pork inside symbolized progress, while the cabbage and sauerkraut are supposed to bring you fortune and money. With a big year ahead of me, including my college graduation and a wedding, I need all the good luck I can get!Plus a few roasted carrots on the side. They don’t symbolize anything….except maybe good eyesight? πŸ™‚

After dinner, my mom treated us to ice cream. Yum!I always go for the big, fancy, chocolate-dipped, sprinkle coated waffle cone, and tonight I was so excited, I nearly ate all the chocolate off before snapping a picture…oops! You can see there is still a little piece peeking out in the back. So good!

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Cabbage isn’t a food that most people eat on a daily basis, but it is certainly a great food to choose when it comes to your health. While there are many benefits to be gained from consuming cabbage, cancer prevention tops them all. More than 400 studies have examined the cancer fighting potential of cabbage and they have found that the benefits come from it’s high content of antioxidants, anti-inflammatories and glucosinolates. And hey, if it doesn’t help your health, there’s always that rumor that it will bring you money…so eat up!

5 thoughts on “Good Luck For The New Year

Tell Me What You Think!

