Mommy and Me

Last week I wrote about my Daddy-Daughter date, but yesterday was a Mother-Daughter date!

My day started with a super sweaty, super awesome spin class. Then, around lunch time, my mom asked if I wanted to grab a bite to eat, and suggested going to Mimi’s Cafe. Uhhhh….Yes!

Hi Mom! πŸ˜€

I stated with a PomZero to drink
Sprite Zero with a splash of Pom juice. Looks fancy, tastes bubbly.

And for lunch, I ordered the broiled chicken, which came with a side salad and fruit.

It was the perfect amount of food, and everything was delicious! Many people tend to struggle with eating moderate portions and choosing healthy options when dining out, and I can certainly relate! When dining out, I have a few rules that I like to stick by so I don’t leave the restaurant feeling like an overstuffed turkey.
-Do research beforehand
Many restaurants now offer special “light” or “healthy” menus for health conscious consumers, and many of them can be pretty good! My dish from Mimi’s was on the “Fresh & Fit” menu, and contained less than 500 calories!
-Read descriptions carefully, and modify your order if needed
Choose dishes that are described as “baked”, “broiled” or “grilled”, and avoid items that are “fried”, “smothered”, or “creamy”
-Share dessert
We all know restaurant desserts are MASSIVE and loaded with calories, so share with a friend!
-Leave some wiggle room
Unless your going out for lunch or dinner everyday, dining out is usually a special occasion, so splurge a little without feeling guilty!
5 thoughts on “Mommy and Me

  1. Great post! I find it difficult to eat healthy at restaurants. Even if I order something relatively healthy, the portions are usually so ridiculous and I have a bad habit of clearing my plate. Plus, even the healthiest sounding dish can be a huge calorie bomb depending on how it's prepared. I think the best thing you can do is cut back on dining out; keep it as a weekly treat and you should be fine.

  2. Wow that salad looks like one I could eat! Maybe we can give Mimi's a second chance… :)And my Omelets clearly need more work, but practice makes perfect and I'm sure eating them is a task you can handle!LOVE you soo much baby! Loving the blog, keep it up!

  3. That drink looks yummy! Thanks for the restaurant tips! My sister always says, you don't go out to eat to eat healthy, but I think that we should be able too! Even though sometimes it's hard.

  4. We don't eat out often, so I don't worry too much about the healthiness (is that a word) of the foods. Back when I was working and traveling a lot, I did focus on the health aspects, but for now, I love my french fries every couple of weeks. πŸ™‚

Tell Me What You Think!

