Bring On The Breakfast

This morning marks the fifth time in the past week and a half that I have gone out to breakfast….not that I am complaining! In honor of my last day at home before heading back to school, my mom treated me to a meal out! I enjoy eggs, but strangely I almost never eat them in the mornings, because I don’t crave them. I usually wake up wanting something sweet, and today was no different.
Double Blueberry pancakes topped with blueberries and whipped cream.

These were probably some of the best pancakes I have ever had!

Breakfast really is my favorite meals of the day. Starting your day with a nutritious, well balanced meal is so important (alright, blueberry pancakes doesn’t exactly qualify as a well balanced meal, but hey!). Don’t think that by skipping your morning meal you are saving yourself any calories in the long run because you are actually just cheating your body out of some of the great benefits.

The Benefits of Breakfast
-Breakfast provides energy needed by your body and brain to recharge after a full night of fasting
-Breakfast jump-starts your metabolism (skipping breakfast can actually slow it down!). Aim to eat within one hour of waking for maximum results.
-Breakfast eaters often have a healthier weight than non-breakfast eaters
-Eating breakfast, even if your not hungry first thing in the morning, will power you through until lunch time so that you won’t feel like face planting into the box of doughnuts that your co-worker brought in.

Of course, these are just some of the reasons to have a morning meal, and there are many more. But, the moral of the story is eat your breakfast!

As I mentioned before, I am returning to school tonight. My last quarter EVER (!!!) starts bright and early at 8 a.m. tomorrow morning. Better go finish packing!

4 thoughts on “Bring On The Breakfast

Tell Me What You Think!

