A Nutrient-Packed WIAW

Its Wednesday, and you know what that means….

Time for another edition of “What I Ate Wednesday”!

After a day off from school yesterday, today felt like a Monday! Luckily, I don’t have class until noon on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I was able to enjoy a leisurely morning in my pj’s. Last night I went to bed knowing exactly what I wanted for breakfast this morning, so when my stomach told me it was ready, I got to work!

Chocolate Oats with strawberries topped with Cookie ButterThis might not sound too out of the ordinary, but there was definitely something that made it special Chocolate Infusion Amazing Meal from Amazing Grass!

Today is my long day at school, and I wanted to make sure that I started my day with a nutritious breakfast that would do a good job at fueling me throughout the day. Not only does Amazing Meal contain a lovely 10 grams of protein (talk about staying power!) from Rice and Hemp, it also has greens including Wheat Grass, Kale, Barley Grass and Alfalfa aaaand an antioxidant fruit and veggie blend with Acai, carrots, blueberries, Goji, Rose Hips, Maca and banana! Holy nutrients! Just in case you weren’t convince already….all the ingredients are USDA Certified Organic.

This was my first time trying a product from Amazing Grass, but I have heard so many good things about them, that I knew I was in for a treat. Turns out the rumors are true…not only is Amazing Grass amazing for you, it tastes great, also!

My nutrient dense breakfast did a great job fueling me through my 5-mile run and an afternoon of classes until I got home for lunch.A big salad from campus with tuna, bell peppers, and raisins. I added a little extra staying power to my mid-day meal by adding tons of extra lettuce, black beans and a big blob of Tomato & Basil hummus.

I always take pictures of my salads before I add all the addition extras, because once I do it ends up looking like this….
And that is just not very appealing!

As I mentioned, today is my long day, which means I don’t get out of class (Anatomy Lab! Blech…) until 9. So for the next 10 weeks you can expect my WIAW dinners to be pretty lame….when I get home I am just looking for the fastest thing possible! Tonight’s decision was an easy one to make, because not only was it fast, it was delicious!
LinkAmy’s Black Bean Burrito, plus a side of carrots for crunch and color.

I am a huge fan of all products from Amy’s Kitchen becuase they offer a great variety of convenient health foods, many of which are Vegan, low fat, certified Kosher, light in sodium and/or dairy, lactose, gluten and soy nut free. When I saw these burritos at the grocery store, I picked them up with my late Tuesday nights in mind. Not only are the products easy to prepare, the ingredient lists contains quality ingredients that you can feel good about putting in your body.

Whew…it has been a long day, and I am ready for some well-deserved relaxation! Good night!

28 thoughts on “A Nutrient-Packed WIAW

  1. all your eats look delicious! i'm always a fan of quick and easy dinners – i usually work 2-3 nights a week and have to make something quick before i leave or after i get home. amy's never fails! i also like freezing leftovers because they're always easy to reheat, and nutritious too.

  2. Hey I'm just checking out your blog for the first time and your eats are intriguingly healthy and delicious-looking! I am also a student and can definitely relate to coming home after school or work (or both) and being so famished I can't think about cooking. I am a Nutrition, Exercise and Health major so I too want to practice what I preach!Thanks for sharing and good luck with school! 🙂

  3. This post is making me hungry! I wanted to try that cookie butter but hesitated and now, its gone…oh well, she who hesitates is lost, right?!That Amazing Grass looks neat…off to check out their website 🙂

  4. I tried an amazing grass packet-thingy for the first time the other day, too. It was a lemon-lime energy packet–kinda like gatorade but actually good for you. I liked it–and I'd love to try that chocolate stuff, sounds like it would be amazing in oatmeal!

  5. I love those burritos! I take pics of my salad before I toss or shake them all up. Cuz yes, they end of looking no so appealing after (but taste great). Have fun with Anth lab. I remember those days… A&P can cause severe brain headaches. But its probably the only class I actually remember a lot from. BTW, digging the oatmeal combo!

  6. Okay, this post just reminded me that I am SERIOUSLY hungry. The salad from your campus looks amazing! The easy-access to food is definitely something I miss about school.

  7. Its every young engineer's dream to be involved with some form of design work… Well I'm going to give you a design project when you graduate and move down here…I want you to design a salad that I will like! :I'm thinking moist juicy pulled pork? No BBQ of course! Hrmm… or maybe smoked turkey?

  8. i love amy's meals when i'm in a pinch – especially since she does so many dairy-free versions! i only wish that she'd include dairy-free in her new light line :(hope you're having a restful weekend!

Tell Me What You Think!

