Oatmeal & Flax Pancakes

Good Morning! I hope you have all been having a relaxing weekend. I have been stuck working on an Anatomy & Physiology lab report, as well as preparing for my first midterm next week. Not exactly what I would call an ideal weekend! Fortunately, I feel like I accomplished a lot, which of course, made all my hard work worth it.
This morning, I felt like taking time to prepare something a little different for breakfast. I had pancakes on the brain, but no eggs in the fridge. What is a hungry girl to do in that situation?
Break out the Flax Seed, of course!

Did you know that ground flax seed can be substituted for eggs, margarine, butter and cooking oils in recipes?This morning I used Carrington Farms Organic Milled Flax Seed.

And you know what the best part is? Flax is great for you! While it is technically a seed, not a grain, it has a similar vitamin and mineral profile, but is low in carbohydrates. This mighty little seed is high in most of the B vitamins as well as magnesium and manganeses. But, that is just the beginning! Flax is also a great source of Omega 3’s, especially alpha linolenic, fiber and phytochemicals.

Oatmeal & Flax Pancake
Ingredients
1 Tbsp. ground flax seed + 3 Tbsp. water
1/2 c. instant oatmeal
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 c. light soy milk
Stevia, to taste (optional)
Directions
1.) Combine flax and water in a bowl. Stir quickly until mixture thickens (about 1-2 minutes)2.) Add all other ingredients and stir well
3.) Pour mixture into a hot skillet and shape into a circle4.) Flip!
5.) Top with your favorite ingredients! Today, I served mine with Cookie Butter and sliced strawberries
Breakfast is served!

Pin It


23 thoughts on “Oatmeal & Flax Pancakes

  1. Yum…comfort food! Perfect for a winter breakfast. Your pancakes look delicious….and I did not know that flax seed could be substituted for eggs.

  2. This was my first time using flax as a substitute…when I first mixed it with the water I was worried because it didn't thicken up as much as I was expecting it would, but it obviously worked out in the end!

  3. Ohh I need to try this! I've made oatmeal pancakes before but havent made any oatmeal flax pancakes before. They look super delicious and I love how you topped yours with Cookie Butter and strawberries. 🙂

Tell Me What You Think!

