Channeling My Inner Frat Boy

Happy Wednesday! I missed my normal “What I Ate Wednesday” post this week due to computer issues…let me just tell you, this is not my week for dealing with technology! First, my wireless internet card pooped out, and then I got a virus! Because of that, I have was computer-less for a few days, but luckily I am back up and running now!
Back in December when I went to Colorado to attend a Dietetic Internship open house, I had a funny conversation with my uncle over dinner one night. The topic of my blog came up, and while we were chatting away he said, “You come up with some really interesting food combinations….the recipes you come up with are things that only a frat guy could think of!” Uhm…thanks?! I wasn’t quite sure how to interpret that, but I just decided to take is as a complement of my impressive culinary creativity.

However, I think I’m starting to understand what he meant….
Last night, I channeled my inner frat boy to come up with this amazingly delicious new combo.

Just stick with me now…

“Hey There Is Tuna in My Oats!” Oats

-1 can Light Tuna
-1/2 c. oats + water
-Salsa (maybe 1/4 c.?)
-1 slice of cheese (I used Pepper Jack Veggie Slices)

All I did was combine the tuna, oats, water and salsa in a bowl and cooked it as I would normally cook oats in the microwave. Once it was done, I added the cheese and stirred well!

Tuna in oats?! Yes! And, ohhhhh was it good! Seriously! Oats are great because on their own they don’t have much flavor, so you can add in almost anything your heart desires! Another great thing about them? They aren’t just for breakfast anymore! This is certainly not something I would want to wake up with, but for lunch of dinner? Yes, please!For this bowl, I used Wild Planet’s Wild Skipjack Light Tuna. This was my first time trying this brand and I absolutely loved it! The tuna was moist and perfectly flakey. I could definitely see and taste the quality difference from my normal $0.99 tuna! This sustainably caught seafood added 1,752 mg of Omega 3 Fatty Acids and a whopping 26 grams of protein to my evening meal!Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it…go ahead and channel your inner frat boy (minus all that beer)!

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Current dietary recommendations suggest eating seafood at least 1-2 times per week, and including canned tuna in your diet is a great way to meet that goal. Tuna is an excellent source of Omega 3 fatty acids, an essential dietary component that reduces inflammation, lowers the amount of lipids circulating in the bloodstream and can even help prevent the growth of cancer cells.

Go fish!

7 thoughts on “Channeling My Inner Frat Boy

  1. As a retired frat boy I can tell you I've never mixed salsa, oatmeal and tuna… Thats kind of weird and I've used chicken and mustard (separate occasions) as chasers. HA!Love you baby, but I don't think I'll ever be trying this dish. :)LOVE (x a million), Jason, FROM HAWAII! 😀

  2. thank you SO much for the award love xo i hope to get to know you a lot better through blogging ❤ I love your blog and you are such an inspiration 🙂 congrats on submitting your intern app! so exciting! love u

Tell Me What You Think!

