More to Love

Today marks exactly 6 more months until the big day when we say “I Do”!It is amazing how fast the time is flying by…August 4th will be here before we know it!

I felt that this occasion was the perfect time to talk about something most of us have probably experienced when being in a relationship. It is a phenomenon I like to refer to as “The Boyfriend Layer” or “Love Pudge”. Whatever you call it, it can be a hard thing to manage and deal with when cuddling up to watch a movie and eat ice cream on the couch sounds more appealing than hitting the gym.Starting to sound familiar yet? Meeting for drinks at the end of a long day and romantic dinner dates are definitely enjoyable parts of being in a relationship, but your favorite jeans might tell you other wise. However, gaining a significant other doesn’t mean you also have to gain pounds! So how do you breakup with this problem once and for all?

Don’t Eat Like Him
Just because your date orders a Double Cheese Burger, fries and a milkshake, it doesn’t mean you have to! Matching him bite to bite will come back to bite you.

Pick the Place
I am all for indulging when dining out, but if it is becoming a common occurrence, choose wisely! If he suggests dinner out, do some research and pick a place that you know he will like, but also offers light and healthy options you will enjoy.

Make a Healthier Version of His Favorite Dish
If your guy requests Lasagna, Nachos, Burgers and Meat Loaf, indulge him! Just because these dishes are classic calorie bombs, doesn’t mean you can’t lighten them up with a few simple substitutions!

Plan a Romantic Dinner In
Instead of going out to dinner for the fourth time in one week, suggest that the two of you cook a special dinner together. Include things that you will both like….just don’t forget the veggies!

Plan an Active Date
A walk on the beach, a hike on a local path or swimming at the beach are all fun ways to burn calories without feeling like your working out.

Inspire Him!
Before my Fiance, Jason, and I started dating, he didn’t even know how to cook vegetables (sorry for giving away your secrets, babe!). Now? Whole different man! My eating habits have influenced him to branch out and try healthier foods that he thought he didn’t like. Let me just tell you, the man is a total broccoli fiend now, and I couldn’t be more proud!

In a relationship, this is one time when having “more to love” isn’t necessarily a good thing!

16 thoughts on “More to Love

  1. It happens very easily, especially as we get more comfortable in a relationship. But, all it takes to avoid it is a little extra conscious effort 🙂 Glad you liked the post!

  2. Cute post baby! I loved it. :)I'm going through my own love pudge… I think its your moms amazing cooking… For me its a portion control issue. Its easy to eat thirds when I don't have to prepare it. hehehe Good thing I'm exercising again!Love you so much, cant wait for your graduation next month and for the wedding!Love, Jason ❤

  3. This is such a great post! I think this happens to everyone :)I can't even imagine what would happen if I ate all the same stuff my husband ate! I would probably weight 200 lbs. And my husband has learned to have me pick the place if we are going out that way he knows I will have something I want to eat. If I'm happy, he is happy! 😉 And I love your engagement pics btw, so cute!!

  4. Great advice! I'm a single lady, but back when I had a BF, I would offer to cook all the time. He thought it was a special treat, I thought it was a great way to make sure I was getting the healthy food I wanted ;D

  5. Those photos are totally adorable! So happy for you! These are super valuable tips – when I'm in relationships, I start to eat like the guy too and then have to mentally stop myself because they just have a lot more places for it to go than we do!!Btw I finally got around to updating my blogroll, so glad to have you on it!

  6. Yes, boys really don't know how lucky they have it….I wish I had the metabolism of a man! Haha. Thank you for adding me to your blogroll, that is so sweet of you! I really appreciate the support 🙂

Tell Me What You Think!

