My Last WIAW as a Twenty-One Year Old!

Yep, you read it right…on Thursday I will be turning the big two-two! My parents are coming to visit for the weekend, and I couldn’t be more excited to see them! We have a few fun activities planned, and of course, I am looking forward to a lot of yummy food! Speaking of yummy food, let’s get down to business!
Today started off with a bowl of chocolate protein and blueberry oats.I am not usually a big supporter of using protein powders because, a.) they contain waaaaay more protein than is really necessary, b.) I prefer to get my protein from real foods rather than from a manufactured powder supplement, and c.) they are ridiculously expensive! However, because my beloved Cookie Butter contains a whole 0.5 grams of protein, I added half of a single serving pack of protein powder to my oats this morning. I knew that without adding some sort of protein to my meal I would be hungry again within an hour or two. Half the packet provided me with a modest 8 grams of protein, and added a delicious chocolate flavor to my bowl.

After digesting, it was time to run my little heart out. I covered 6-miles following this routine

Distance (miles) Speed (mph)
0 – 1.0 6.5
1 – 1.5 7.5
1.5 – 1.75 6.5
Repeat Miles 1 – 1.75 three more times
4.0 – 4.25 7.5
4.25 – 4.5 6.5
Repeat Miles 4 – 4.5 three more times

I have actually done this workout a few times in the past two weeks because I really like it! Breaking the first 4 miles into half-mile segments makes the time go by a lot quicker.

Once I was done with my workout, I headed to class, where I snacked on a ThinkThin bar.

Lunch was nothing you haven’t seen before! Yes…another salad.
Today’s salad included the basic veggie mix, tilapia, kidney beans, hummus and salsa to top it all off!

After my lab class I came home to a late dinner. I made just about the quickest thing possibleA slice of spinach and cheese quicheWith a side of broccolini, dipped in ketchup of course!

Let the Birthday festivities begin!

47 thoughts on “My Last WIAW as a Twenty-One Year Old!

  1. Happy early birthday!! Enjoy :DGotta love quiche! And, I recently picked up a couple of those Think Thin bars – I haven't tried any of em yet though. Glad to see that they get a seal of approval 🙂

  2. Unfortunately all of the Trader Joe's stores here have been completely OUT!! I don't know if it is just a seasonal item or what, but I sure am glad that I bought a few extra jars that I tucked away into my cupboard! Thank you for the birthday wishes!

  3. Think Thin bars are great, I highly suggest giving them a try! My favorite flavor so far has been Crunchy PB…tasted just like a candy bar. Yum! Thank you for the birthday wishes 🙂

  4. If you are a ketchup addict like myself, dipping your broccoli is totally a thing! It's delicious…try it sometime 😉 And, thank you for the birthday wishes!

  5. The bars are great, I highly suggest them! So far my favorite has been the crunchy PB flavor…it pretty much tastes like a candy bar with 20 grams of protein! And thank you for the pre-birthday wishes 🙂

  6. Happy birthday to YOU!!ENJOY YOUR DAY!As for your last "WIAW", it looks like it was a success 🙂 Nothing beats beastly salads! And I must say, I do love those Think Thin bars. They taste like they should be so bad for you, but aren't!

  7. Happy Birthday! Your meals really look amazing, so healthy and delicious! I aspire to run the way you do, not quite there yet, but working on it (7.5: my treadmill does not know that number yet, LOL)

  8. Happy birthday!! I'm with you on the protein powder. They are good to supplement with, but shouldn't be a replacement for the other delicious protein rich foods!

Tell Me What You Think!

