Oh My, Sweet Potato Fry!

Good evening! Hope your week is off to a great start! I know mine is…today was my last day of college classes EVER, so how could I not be in a good mood?! Plus, I am happy to report my appetite seems to be back to normal after yesterday’s seemingly insatiable hunger. I’m tellin’ ya, it was that amazing quesadilla!
I love, love, LOVE sweet potatoes, but for some reason, I haven’t had one in what seems like forever! When I grocery shopping over the weekend, the pile of sweet potatoes in the fresh produce section caught my eye and instantly had me craving one.Rather than just bake my spud like I usually do, I decided to do something I have never attempted before….Turn it into homemade sweet potato fries! Man…I must be on a fry kick lately!

To make the fries, I simply cut 1 medium sweet potato into evenly sized strips, drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with cinnamon and salt. I then placed them on a foil-lined cookie sheet and baked for 25 minutes at 450*, flipping once halfway through.

The end result was, of course, delicious! Although, they didn’t turn out as crispy as I had hoped they would…any expert sweet potato fry makers out there have any suggestions? More olive oil?

I paired my fries with a filet of Sole topped with Butter Beans and some sauteed spinach.

An all around delicious and nutritious dinner!

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: The Center for Public Interest (CSPI) has ranked sweet potatoes as one of the most nutrition vegetables out there! Their high fiber content promotes a healthy digestive tract and they are an awesome source of complex carbs, meaning they will not cause spikes in your blood sugar, and will digest more slowly, keeping you full longer. The National Cancer Institute has suggested that people eat at least five servings of fruits and vegetables every day, focusing on those high in antioxidants like Vitamins A and C…sweet potatoes fit that requirement perfectly!

7 thoughts on “Oh My, Sweet Potato Fry!

Tell Me What You Think!

