Hamburger-Lover Approved!

It’s official, I have again become obsessed with spinning. The gym at my college didn’t have the greatest instructors, and the timing of the class schedule never seemed to be conducive to my school schedule, so spin had kind of fallen to the side during the past six months. However, now that I am back home and at my old gym, I am again taking full advantage of it!

Jason has been really busy with work lately, so tonight, I offered to help him out by making dinner. I have talked about eating healthy in a relationship to avoid “the boyfriend layer” and how to inspire your significant other to be healthier, but my man is, and always will be, a hamburger man.

I understand his love, and am willing to indulge him every now and then. Tonight, I did just that! However, I made it just a little bit healthier than your traditional burger and fries.

On the menu tonight was Cilantro and Spice Turkey burgers!

Cilantro and Spice Turkey Burgers

Ingredients
1.25 lbs lean ground turkey meat
2 Tbsp. fresh Cilantro, chopped
1 1/2 Tsp. ground cumin
1/2 Tsp. ground chipotle pepper
1/2 Tsp. salt

Directions
Preheat grill
In a large bowl, combine all ingredients
Mix well with hands
Form into 4 patties
Grill!

The burgers were a hit and hamburger-lover approved! I served the burgers on top on whole wheat buns with avocado and all the fixings. On the side, I had a serving of parsnip fries, and made Jason regular oven baked fries with Russet potatoes. I may have inspired him to eat healthier, but I don’t think the parsnip thing will ever catch on….

Why Would Jessica Eat This?: Turkey, like chicken, is a lean, white meat that is a great source of protein while also being low in saturated and total fat. Substituting this bird in place of red meat is a great idea because studies have shown that a larger consumption of white meat versus red meat decreases the risk of such diseases as Cardio Vascular Disease, Type 2 Diabetes and Colon cancer. Gobble, Gobble.

Gotta get to sleep….I have spin the the morning!

Posted by Picasa
6 thoughts on “Hamburger-Lover Approved!

  1. I really want to try making parsnip fries, I absolutely love parnsips. And ketchup. So an excuse to merge the two? Sounds heavenly. I like how you incorporate his tastes with healthier alternatives–goes to show you can still have the foods you enjoy, but you can do it healthier!

Tell Me What You Think!

